The Schedule

3 Aug

In a perfect world, I would do a swim meet in September, a 5K in October and would slowly build up to a triathlon in November. But I don’t live in a perfect world- I live in Iowa (ha. Kidding, Iowa is lovely).

 

Iowa, is located in this place called the Midwest. This “Midwest” is apparently rather prone to the stuff called “snow” during this time called “winter” (I moved here from the actual west in January. There continues to be some adjustment) and thus does not offer a lot in the way of triathlons past the month of September.

 

Given that I have both a small child and a limited budget, I’m trying to do as many events within easyish driving distance (under 3 hours, if at all possible) so I basically have no option but to do the triathlon, the event that makes me the most nervous, first.

 

August will continue to be a training month. I’m not swimming much this week due to having stitches that don’t come out until Friday, but that is okay as swimming is my strongest event. The running and cycling continue to be challenging but I’m enjoying it more and more.

 

For September I’ll be doing the Iowa State triathlon (http://t3.trihawks.com). It is a sprint distance tri: 500 yard swim, 15 mile bike, 3.1 mile run. My main goal is to finish it and I’d like to be under 3 hours, but beyond that I have no idea what kind of times I’ll have. It will be my first time racing in open water, so that will be exciting.

 

For October, I’ll be doing the 5K portion of the Des Moines Marathon (www.desmoinesmarathon.com). Mr. Monkey will be running the marathon so this will be another first, the first time we’ve ever done an event together. My goals for this one are to run the whole thing and to finish in under 45 minutes. I’ve made a few cracks on here about my running speed, but it cannot be emphasized enough….I’m sllllooooowwww.

 

November is the race I’m most excited about: the Living History Farms 7 miler (http://www.fitnesssports.com/November_races/LivHistFarms/lhf_index.html). The website promises cold weather, mud and possible creek wading. I’ve never run more than 6 miles, so this is a stretch for me, but it just sounds insane and fun. This race fills fast, so my back up plan is a swim meet held sometime that month.

 

December I’ll either do another road race or an event called the 100 100’s on the 100, which is a swimming event where you do 100 reps of 100 yard swim on the 1:40 (100 seconds). For the non-swimmers out there…this is hard and long (insert that’s what she said joke here). This event isn’t a competition against other swimmers, more against yourself and the clock. They have two shorter distances 100X 75 yards and 100X50 yards that are also options.

 

Should be a great fall!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

